Home Page
Welcome to

Cutteslowe Primary School

If you are struggling, or are concerned about someone, please call 0800 1111 for Childline and 116 123 for Samaritans.
Home Page
Welcome to

Cutteslowe Primary School

How does the governing body work?

The River Learning Trust delegates key strategic responsibilities to the governors. The governors then work collaboratively with the Headteacher and senior staff to establish the vision and ethos of the school within the context of The River Learning Trust. We look at where the school is now, ask what we want the school to achieve and how are we going to achieve this. Together with the Headteacher,  and senior staff, we use the published school performance data.and additional outcomes from the school’s self-evaluation, to inform priorities in the School Improvement Plan. We set clear, ambitious targets for the school and develop policies and budget and staffing structures to achieve these aims. We also appoint the Headteacher.


The governor’s act as a critical friend to the school, reviewing the performance of the Headteacher, checking that progress is being made towards targets, and evaluating the effectiveness of policies and the School Improvement Plan. We also help celebrate the school's successes and ensure that parents are involved and informed as appropriate.


Governors get to know the school through attending meetings and by visiting the school during the school day.


The governing body is organised into two sub-committees, which take responsibility for holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance and financial performance of the school. Each governor is allocated to one of the two sub-committees and some governors take on specific responsibilities, for example, Safeguarding and Health & Safety. All governors attend the Full Governing Body Meetings. 



Impact Committee: This committee has an overview of the academic performance of the school and the children's experiences. It also has oversight over Safeguarding.

Impact Committee Members: Louise Askew

                                                  Judy East (Clark)

                                                  Andrew Gant

                                                  Jon Gray

                                                  Erin Kennedy 

                                                  Tiffany Ko

                                                  Earnest Lennon 

                                            Tom Scholes (Chair)

                                            Roger Young

                                            Sara Zumbuhl 


Resources Committee: This committee has an overview of the effectiveness of the schools resources including staffing, equipment and the building and grounds. It also has oversight over the schools budget and Health & Safety.

Resources Committee Members: Roi Amir (Chair)

                                                         Louise Askew

                                                         Judy East (Clark)

                                                         Jon Gray

                                                         Rabyah Khan

                                                         Angus Phillips

                                                         Hannah Staniford 

                                                         Catherine Turner (Business Manager)