Home Page
Welcome to

Cutteslowe Primary School

Home Page
Welcome to

Cutteslowe Primary School

Who are the governors?

The governing body is made up of the Headteacher and people from various different groups who have an interest in the success of the school, including parents, staff, the local authority and the community. The governors welcome a range of viewpoints, and make decisions together about a variety of issues. Between them governors have a wide breadth of skills and experience to enable the governing body collectively to support and challenge the school leadership. As vacancies arise specific skills are targeted to fill gaps in the governing body. As a result, key professional skills are represented from law, accountancy, architecture to educational skills.







 Ernest Lennon (Chair of Governors)


I’m Ernest and I chair the Governors. I’m excited to see our pupils learn and grow and to work with all the staff to make Cutteslowe an inspiring school. I’m the Chaplain at St Edward’s and oversee the spiritual life of the school as well as providing pastoral support.

Kate Dew (Safeguarding & Community Governor)


I’m Kate and I am excited to be joining the Cutteslowe governors this year.  I have a daughter in year 1 and a son who is two, as well as two teenage stepchildren.  I have been working in Oxford city for the past ten years as an Assistant Head Teacher, specialising in Inclusion, Special Educational Needs and Safeguarding.  I am looking forward to working with the school community in my new role as Special Educational Needs and Safeguarding link governor.

Andrew Gant (Local Authority Governor)


Andrew Gant has lived in Middle Way for over 20 years and represented Summertown on the City Council since May 2014. He is also involved with local community associations, sports clubs and charities, and can occasionally be found playing the organ in St Michael’s Church. At Cutteslowe Primary School he serves as the Local Authority governor, with particular responsibility for Pupil Premium. Andrew is always happy to speak to ward residents and school parents. His contact details can be found on the City Council website.

Stuart Murray (Parent Governor)


Stuart has been living in Oxford for 3 years and has two children at Cutteslowe, in years 2 and 6. He has spent nearly 20 years working in the technology industry and is currently Head of Cyber Security at BP Launchpad, a subsidiary of BP that builds businesses to accelerate the energy transition away from fossil fuels. Outside of work, he enjoys playing the piano and double bass, and persuading his children to walk up various hills in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside.

Tom Murray (Parent Governor)


My name is Tom Murray and I am the leader of a small Church of England church (Cutteslowe Connected Church) based in the Cutteslowe community. I am married to Gin (who works at the JR hospital) and we have two children, Kitty (3 – who attends Cutteslowe Primary School in Nursery) and Jack (1). We moved into Cutteslowe, just 2 minutes from Cutteslowe School, in June 2019 to help lead the church. Although we have only been here a short time, we feel very settled in the community and I am excited to be a community governor at Cutteslowe Primary School.

Helen Pooley (Community Governor)


I’m really looking forward to becoming a community governor and maintaining my links with the school now that my children have moved on to Cherwell. I work in museum learning at the History of Science Museum and the Museum of Oxford. I trained as a primary teacher and started my association with the school around 8 years ago when I did 1 to 1 tuition at Cutteslowe.  I’m going to be taking over from Roger Young as the link governor for data and achievement.

Jo Buchan-Shreeves


I have two young children at Cutteslowe Primary School (Jack and Florence) and also a young cat called Dinah who tries to come to school every morning! I started my career as a secondary school science teacher in Oxford, but for the past ten years I have worked in the charity sector - currently as a project manager for a large medical research charity. In July 2021 I started my role as a Governor for school and am looking forward to what the next few years will bring. Outside of school and work I enjoy cooking and trying new food and recipes - the majority of which are usually rejected by Jack and Florence! 

Joe Porter (Parent Governor)


My name is Joe Porter and I am a teacher in North Oxford. I have a son in Reception, a daughter joining the Nursery in the New Year and I am thrilled to be joining the Governing Body as a Parent Governor. Outside of family life and work, I am passionate about sport, particularly cricket and playing for Oxford Cricket Club.